Whimventory and Online Hoarding

Screen Shot 2015-02-21 at 3.10.57 PM

 

I’m not quite sure about the rest of you gals but I have a serious “online hording” or wishlist-ing problem.  With a limited budget and wishful eye, I found myself overspending way too often.  I needed to find a solution that would allow me to collect items I pined for, without making impulse buys, so I started with Amazon’s Universal Wishlist.  Having a universal wishlist was great, it allowed me to keep track of items I loved and to categorize them as i saw fit.  However, after sometime I found that Amazon kept failing on me.  It would not allow me to move items into different list, images would get lost and once I grew my list to a grand ole size it just stopped working.  I had to find something else comparable but better and that’s where Whimventory came in.

I have been using Whimventory for a few months now and I absolutely love it.  I probably have about 1,000 items currently and  70 different lists.  I know, I know, this is an absurd number of items!  Your absolutely right,  even if I became a millionaire I would never purchase all of these.  I keep track of all my lust loves and needs because I have to dress for different events and situations all of the time.  It’s so much easier to find an outfit last minute when I have an aggregated list to search through.  It also helps me keep track of items that are from sites I may not regularly visit.  If you’ve ever found an item that was perfect in every way but decided not to buy it due to price or lack of necessity only to forget where you found it in the first place, this web app will alleviate that.

Whimventory is amazingly easy to navigate, with a myriad of sorting functions.  Although there is no search option, you create your own lists which means can be as specific as you like.  If you take a look at the screenshot above you will see that i tend to be fairly specific, so I haven’t found the need to use the search button.  In my opinion this application works best on computers because you have to log in to the service when you opt to use it.  By whenever, I mean even when you “whim” something.  You see, like Amazon, you use a universal button saved under your bookmarks to “whim” items.  Since my laptop has the capability of remembering my login this process is expedited,  while on my iPad i have to type in my login information every time.

In summation,  this application has helped streamline my shopping process and has proven much more reliable than Amazon’s universal wishlist.  I highly recommend this if you are looking for a way to keep track of items you’d like to add to your wardrobe.

Leave a Reply

