Review: Tarte BB tinted treatment 12-hour primer SPF 30

TarteComp
Before Tarte BB Cream|After Tarte BB Cream|Final Face

 

For most of my life I used drug store makeup, with no consideration for what effect it had on my skin.  It’s only been in the last three years that I’ve started using quality products.  After cycling through several different products for my face, I was getting frustrated.  My skin is very pale and very pink and nothing really seamed to match.  The lightest of colors were always too yellow or too dark and in a fit of frustration I actually decided to ask a sales person for help!  I don’t know why I didn’t know sooner because that’s how I discovered Tarte.  I was skeptical of the BB cream that I walked away with but in less than a month I noticed serious improvements in my skin’s texture, acne and redness.

1439
Tarte BB Tinted Treatment 12-Hour Primer Broad Spectrum SPF 30 Sunscreen

Application:
This BB cream is truly layerable, so application will depend on how much coverage you need.  Before application make sure to wash your face as to clear off any residual oil or dirt.  Though you don’t need to (since this product is both a moisturizer and cover up) you may apply your moisturizer.  Allow the moisturizer to absorb into the skin before applying Tarte BB cream.  Apply the BB cream one layer at a time, allowing it to absorb into your skin between each layer.

I have never applied more than three layers.  Wearing three layers is reserved for the rare day when I’m having a horrible breakout and I have an event to go to.  I will however apply my concealer before putting on this product, simply because I have very dark circles under my eyes. Most days I only use one layer and I feel adequately covered for work, errands and day to day life.  I wear two layers on days that I am breaking out and need the extra confidence boost or when I have an event.

 

Staying Power:
So long as I use a setting powder I still look fresh at the end of my 9 to 5 work day.  Occasionally, I will start to see my dark circles or a particularly difficult blemish peak through my makeup but, a quick dab of cover up fixes that right up!  If I don’t use a powder over top of this BB cream I find that it will wear off after a few hours.

 

Color:
Tarte is amazing for pale skin!  “Fair” matches my skin perfectly with it’s pinkish hue.  This can not be said of any other product that I have tried.  If you have yellow tones try “Light” the next step up, which is still fairly pale but matches up to the lightest shades in YSL, Lancome, and Laura Mercer.

 

Final Thoughts:
I can not recommend this product enough!  In order to keep costs low I tend to carry most of my facial products in both a drugstore brand and higher end brand.  However, when it comes to my foundation/primer this is the only product I use.  I’ve even convinced friends to try this product and they rave about how much nicer their skin looks and feels.  The only negative to this product is that if you spill a little on your clothes it will stain.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

